top of page
  • Writer's pictureReading Rhetorics

Five Classics That Will Make You Fall In Love With Literature All Over Again...


Some books are just meant to be on your shelf, and I am not talking about Dostoevsky or Shakespeare. I’m talking about books you go to when you find comfort. Books that will be your friends every time you need one.


#5 To Kill A Mockingbird


Why is it when I pick up To Kill A Mockingbird, I am instantly visited by a sensory memory: I’m walking home, leaves litter the ground, crunching under my feet. I smell the smoke of fireplaces and think about hot cider and the wind catches and my breath is taken from me and I bundle my coat tighter against me and lift my head to the sky, no clouds, just a stunning blue that hurts my eyes, another deep breath and I have this feeling that all is okay. So, I thank Harper Lee for giving me Atticus. I can cuddle up with my cider and pretend that I’m basking in his light. I can write this blurb that makes sense to maybe a handful but that is okay, I am approved of and all is good.


#4 Little Women


The March Sisters.

Marmee.

Laurie.

Hannah.

Mr. Laurence.

What a beautiful journey. What a beautiful family. What a beautiful story. The book is so simple that every time I complete it, I wonder whether I missed something. It leaves me wanting to know what led Alcott to write this simple masterpiece. “I am not afraid of storms, for I am learning how to sail my ship.”


#3 The Kite Runner


There are two types of books, usually, that make one feel like there are no words to describe the experience: They are either unbelievably detrimental or exceptionally (and positively) impactful. Given the overall high rating, it is redundant to tell, to which category does The Kite Runner belong. I don't think there are that many books, especially fiction, that could leave such a profound effect on a reader's mind.

What I loved the most about this book is the set of characters. Hosseini has done an amazing job developing them, which increases the emotional impact of the plot tenfold. Especially, it's remarkable how well he handled the first-person protagonist, Amir. The traditional 'do wrong, then atone, conclude with a happy ending' is not the way with The Kite Runner, but utilizes an attempt to direct Amir towards a path of atonement, while sticking to a more realistic ending. Had it not been for Hosseini's unique narrative, Amir's character could have turned far more contemptible. Luckily, for me, it was never the case. Many would probably love the secondary characters more, but it is important to remember that it was the protagonist's undistorted, self-criticizing account of the events that made it that way. It's not a perspective you see every day, but I loved it.


#2 Lolita


Nabokov has written a brilliant and disturbing novel; my opinion of it hasn't changed in that respect. I found it surprisingly easy to read and became absorbed quickly - even all those years ago. His portrayal of Humbert's perverted mind is scarily good, perhaps even too good if people can so easily be convinced to side with a pedophile - which is often regarded as the ultimate crime of all, isn't it? Even cold-blooded murderers go after prisoners who've messed with kids. And, as much as I feel ashamed for being so taken in by Humbert, I know that it's not just me who was fooled. Hell, even the GR description proves it. But, believe me, Lolita is a victim and no amount of saddening flashbacks to Humbert's past can change that.


#1 1984


This book! Amazing! Terrifying, brutal, intricate, prophetic - and, in one big word, GENIUS! If this book was written today in the midst of the slew of dystopian novels that come out, it may not have stood out. But, this book was way ahead of its time. Written in a post-WW-II era where the fears of dictatorships and brutal tyranny were fresh in the minds of the people, this book plays off that fear and adds a dark vision of a potential future.


This is where the genius of Orwell comes in. The book is mainly the manifesto of the Party that the main character is seeking to rebel against. But, the ideology and descriptions of this dystopian world are not presented in a boring way - they are fascinating. The fact that Orwell created this world and laid out not only a terrifying political environment but the rules for the new language they were creating, is beyond amazing. Finally, some of the things he describes sound all too possible in our current world. The controversial elections this week in the US only added to the intensity of this book.


Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page